## **Decision Notice**

**Decision No:** LD06 APPOINTMENT OF Subject: SANDWICH PORT AND HAVEN **COMMISSIONERS Notification Date:** 17 October 2022 Implementation Date: 21 October 2022 Decision taken by: **Councillor Trevor Bartlett, Leader of the Council** Authority: By virtue of Section 9(E) (2) (a) of the Local Government Act 2000 **Decision Type: Executive Non-Key Decision** Call-In to Apply? Yes (the deadline for call-in will expire at 10.00am on 21 October 2022) Classification: Unrestricted Reason for the To appoint a new independent Sandwich Port and Haven Decision: Commissioner following a recent resignation, and to reappoint two Sandwich Town Councillors whose appointments expired on 13 August 2022. Decision: (a) To appoint Mrs Jill Griffiths as an independent Sandwich Port and Haven Commissioner for a three-year term ending on 20 February 2025. (b) To appoint Sandwich Town Councillors Keith Heaven and Danielle Sivrikaya as Sandwich Port and Haven

## 1. Consideration and Alternatives (if applicable)

1.1 Dover District Council (DDC) is responsible for appointing eight commissioners to the Sandwich Port and Haven Commission every three years, comprising four independent commissioners, two commissioners appointed directly by DDC and two commissioners nominated by Sandwich Town Council.

2025.

Commissioners for three-year terms ending on 13 August

- 1.2 Four new independent commissioners were appointed in February 2022 following an open recruitment exercise (Russ Pullen, Harvey Cole, Steven Manser and Paul Miller). The appointments of the commissioners nominated by Sandwich Town Council expired on 13 August 2022. (For completeness, Mr James Blackmore and Councillor Oliver Richardson are the DDC-appointed commissioners.)
- 1.3 Mr Russ Pullen, one of the independent commissioners appointed in February, tendered his resignation in July. Following discussions with the Solicitor to the Council and the Head of Governance and HR, it was decided to re-interview two of the unsuccessful candidates from the interviews held in February. One of them declined the opportunity to attend for interview due to personal circumstances and the position was therefore offered to the other candidate, Mrs Jill Griffiths, who has previously served as a Sandwich Port and Haven Commissioner. Mrs Griffiths accepted the

position and will serve for the remainder of Mr Pullen's three-year term which expires on 20 February 2025.

- 1.4 The Chief Executive of Sandwich Town Council advised DDC on 28 September that the Council had resolved at its meeting held on 26 September to nominate Councillors Keith Heaven and Danielle Sivrikaya as Sandwich Port and Haven Commissioners for a further three years. DDC is therefore required formally to accept these nominations and make the appointments.
- 2. Any Conflicts of Interest Declared?
- 2.1 None.
- 3. Supporting Information (as applicable)

None.